Uni Bloc Week 2

I emailed my lecturers regarding the issues of being randomly assigned to groups. Hopefully that will help somewhat. As it is, I have signed in but not participated in all of this teaching bloc’s seminars. Not the best. Especially as the material is interesting. If only I could be more productive at home I could guarantee that the work would be caught up. As it is I am battling to finish my second assignment.

Unlike the whistle-stop tour of pharmacology, the GI lecture was fascinating. I feel like I learned some new information. I am confident about the structure of the digestive system, which until now was something I only had a rudimentary understanding of. I also learned a lot about inflammatory bowel disease, it’s one of those things that I almost feel bad for finding fascinating.

The one seminar I managed to both be present for and participate in was the one on Learning Disabilities. I did a lot of pre-reading, but I still felt as though I learned a lot. At one point, someone named autism as a learning disability and my lecturer was going to let it slide, so I corrected them. Autism spectrum disorders can be associated with learning disabilities, but not every autistic person has a learning disability, because autism itself is not a learning disability it’s a pervasive developmental disorder. Although I was trembling with anxiety by the end of that little speech, I was quite proud of myself for giving it. I think it would be useful for autism to be covered on its own, since we get seminars on learning disabilities, mental health and dementia.

We had our medication management SBE day. The highlight was officially learning to give injections, although I still think I’m going to need a lot of practice if I want to avoid causing serious injury! Especially giving intramuscular injections in the thigh or buttock. The low point was being taught how to manage oxygen by a mental health nurse who doesn’t have to do it and was more clueless than we were. Well done Uni, F for organisation, as usual!

I had my first nightshift to make up a few more placement hours. Lilo was in charge and took me through the crash trolley. I feel like I have slightly more of an idea of what everything is. I might be able to pass someone the right equipment. Still so much to learn there!

Leave a Reply

